about us

how we began

In 2000, two sets of parents from the Quad Cities agreed that they wanted their children who had disabilities to have the same opportunities for fun and learning as typically developing children. They decided to start by offering a one week summer camp for children with disabilities, where they could enjoy a full camp experience.

 

The first year of Camp Hand in Hand was so successful, our co-founders knew they had created something really special for parents and participants. This special program is still going strong today.

In July 2018, Hand in Hand hosted camp for the 19th time, and over 60 campers attended.

What We Do

Over the last 19 years, our programs have expanded from one summer camp in July, to over 15 year round programs. We focus on creating fun, inclusive learning and recreational opportunities for children and young adults, which give their primary caregivers respite from their caregiving duties.

Our programs range from integrated child care, to adaptive yoga classes, to a young adult volunteer program. 

In addition to being fun, our programs also lead to some great outcomes for our participants, such as increased independence and social skills, improved mental health and self-esteem, and reaching health and fitness goals.

We firmly believe in supporting the well-being of the whole family by giving parents and primary caregivers respite from their caregiving duties. According to a recent survey of parents, 75% of parents/caregivers say their work or home life has improved since their child began attending Hand-in-Hand programs.

Meet Our Admin Team

 

Angie Kendall, CEO

angie@handinhandqc.org

Kayla Hartz, Director of

Licensed Care

kayla@handinhandqc.org

Molly Steil Rowland,

Director of Waiver Care and

Program Development

molly@handinhandqc.org

Kyle Rodriguez,

Director of Dayhab

kyle@handinhandqc.org

Dawn Grace,

Director of Recreation and Volunteers

dawn@handinhandqc.org

Samantha Yeager-Walrath,

Director of Development & Marketing 

samantha@handinhandqc.org

Joan Clements,

Bookkeeper

joan@handinhandqc.org

Megan Wiebler,

Office Assistant &

Billing Coordinator

megan@handinhandqc.org

Board of Directors

John Byrne, President - Heather Hartley, Vice President - Ronda Meyer, Treasurer - Laura Wriedt, Secretary

Beth Beverlin - Linda Delessio, M.D. - James Field - Tom Hosmanek - Doug Jasper - Frank Klipsch IV - Kelly Kreiter-Penning

John Leinart - Chris Martin - Angie McCombs - John Nagle - Dan Oliver - Sarah Troutwine

Founders

Joanie Steil - Dave Steil - Mark Smith - Vinnie Smith

Hand in Hand
3860 Middle Road
Bettendorf, IA 52722
563-332-8010

Website updates funded by

Scott County Regional Authority

© 2016 Hand in Hand

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon